The white Ring history
The White Ring on Arlberg – a unique ski circular tour in the Alps – has been connecting mountain lifts and alpine ski runs with the villages Zürs, Zug and Oberlech for over 50 years.
The original ski lifts and ski runs that form the White Ring are still the heart of the fantastic ski region of Lech/Zürs am Arlberg today, and were first established by some adventurous pioneers. Today, the ski region offers over 30 different ski lifts for unlimited ski fun.
This is the listing of the ski lifts in chronological order as they became, in time, part of the White Ring: first was the Schlepplift Zürsersee in winter 1940/41 followed by the single chair lift that takes you from Zürsersee up the Madloch, then followed by the Milchloch ski lift on the Trittalpe in the winter season 1956/57.
The fourth ski lift, the first cableway leading up the Rüfikopf, completed the White Ring in the direction of Lech-Zürs.
The White Ring – The race
The White Ring Race is a unique race only to be experienced in Lech Zürs, and consists in going once around the entire tour on skis, snowboard or telemark.
The race takes place on selected ski pistes around the Rüfikopf, Omeshorn and Kriegerhorn, and also includes the use of some of the ski lifts and cable cars that were already part of the historical race. The total racing time is about 1 hour.
Anybody can take part and every person who succeeds in reaching the goal receives a small souvenir prize for their participation.
Video “The white ring – the longest ski race in the world”
Video “The white ring” racing course
See also …
- Ski region Arlberg
- Ski Club Arlberg
- Lifts and Slopes
- Interactive maps and ski trails from the Arlberg ski region
- Awards of the Arlberg’s ski region